It seems likely that the Janus v. American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Council 31 ruling will end the controversial practice of enabling public sector unions to collect “fair-share” or “agency” fees from employees who decline to join. Over the last eight years, six states have passed Right-to-Work legislation that removes unions’ rights to assess fair-share fees for employees who do not wish to belong to their union, both in the public and private sectors: Wisconsin (2011 and 2015), Michigan (2012), Indiana (2012), West Virginia (2016), Kentucky (2017), and Missouri (2017). To learn more about the current state of agency fees throughout the U.S. and how the Janus decision might affect the status quo, read Bradley D. Marianno and Katharine Strunk’s full article in our Fall 2018 issue or on

—Education Next

Last updated June 8, 2018